The Jubilee Quartet

The Jubilee Quartet was formed in 2006 at the Royal Academy of Music, London: they are Tereza Privratska (Violin I), Alma Olite (Violin II), Stephanie Edmundson (Viola), and Lauren Steel (Cello). They held a Leverhulme Chamber Music Fellowship at the Academy from 2012-13, and are the current Richard Carne Junior Fellows at the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

The Quartet are first-prize winners of the Val Tidone International Chamber Music Competition 2010, and the St Martin’s Chamber Music Competition 2013; they were also third-prize winners of the Trondheim International Chamber Music Competition 2013.

In addition the quartet are award winners of the Tillett Trust Young Artists’ Platform, the Park Lane Group Young Artists, the Hattori Foundation, the Worshipful Company of Musicians Concordia Foundation Artists Fund, and recipients of the Philharmonia MMSF Charles Henderson Ensemble Award. 

In 2012 the Quartet were finalists in the Joseph Joachim International Chamber Music Competition, Weimar, and in 2013, the Royal Over-Seas League.

Their studies have been overseen by professors such as Hatto Beyerle, Thomas Brandis, Garfield Jackson, Martin Outram, and Jon Thorne, and they have participated in masterclasses by the Skampa, Wihan and Chilingirian Quartets, Pierre Colombet, Miguel da Silva, and Sylvia Rosenberg. 

In the autumn they will commence their studies with Günter Pichler at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofia.

The Quartet have played throughout the UK and their continental tours have included a performance in the presence of former Czech president Vaclav Havel. They also enjoy a variety of outreach work as part of the Live Music Now! scheme, and have participated in the Lake District Summer Music and St Magnus Festivals.

May 2013 saw the Quartet’s debut at the Purcell Room, London, where they had appeared the year before with Jack Liebeck and Katya  Apekisheva (Chausson’s Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet).

Loading... Updating page...